The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

22 posts Page 1 of 2
Hello everyone,

I've learned so much from you all on this forum, so here's another question!

I'm relatively new to 5:2, have been on the diet for 3 weeks, lost about 4 pounds the first week, gained a pound back the second, and have been holding steady thereabouts this week. I'm happy with that; I realize this diet is a slow burn and I'm in it for the long haul.

The thing is, in exactly 1 month, I'll be making a trip back home to the States, and I'll be seeing all my family and old friends. I want to look my best and drop a little more at a little faster rate than I am now (especially because I've been going on to them all about this diet!). :grin:

Nothing too drastic, but if I could lose 4-5 pounds (2 kgs) between now and then, that would be amazing. I'm quite short, so a little bit of weight off makes a big difference in my appearance and how I feel. I'm not sure if doing 5:2 on its own will accomplish that, since I seem to be losing at a slower rate (which, again, for the long-term, I am happy with).

I know a good thing would be to get some exercise, because honestly I don't exercise at all now (shame on me!)

Any other tips you all have done to get ready for a holiday/vacation/event? Anybody temporarily done ADF or gone from 5:2 to 4:3? I've read here that 4:3 is about the same as 5:2, so maybe that would not be as effective in the short-term.

Thanks in advance!

Zahra
When I want to lose weight for a holiday (I do that because I always gain weight on holidays) I do a 3-day fast with Neera Syrup but I cheat a bit and have a coffee with a cereal bar in the morning and perhaps another cereal bar in the afternoon.
I do that for 3 days on 2 consecutive weeks and usually lose 4 kilos.
This, of course, has nothing to do with 5:2 and I always gain the weight back because I eat like a pig but when I come back I am at my original weight.