The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

6 posts Page 1 of 1
Calorie Awareness
12 Jan 2013, 09:10
Hi,
I know that its suggested that we can "eat what we want" on feed days but surely calorie awareness is still important?

I wouldn't expect to be eating Maccie Ds and KFCs on a regular basis and get away with it :shock:

I am very new to this regime and very interested in the science behind it (I'm a bit nerdy!) so I have found myself calorie counting on eat days too.

I am only 5ft (150cm) tall so my 'normal' calorie intake is only 1700 per day. This means that my fast day allowance is 425 cals. The changes I have made to eat days are:
- more veg less carbs
- baked crisps not fried
- if I want chocolate or cake I eat it!
- less bread

To me there doesn't seem to be a defined right way or wrong way, I guess the flexibility is one of the things that makes this work. I just don't want to do something wrong at this early stage and not gain the benefits!

First weigh in tomorrow will provide some facts!
Re: Calorie Awareness
12 Jan 2013, 09:26
Hi - I am only 5ft 2 and before starting 5:2 in September weighed 8st 13. I have calorie restricted for about 5 years using MyFitnessPal. I have 1200 calories a day but more if I'm exercising which was/is most days. Cardio and weights. I'm a right gym bunny but was getting frustrated that I couldn't lose the last 10lb or so.
My friend told me about 5:2 and I just have it a go without reading anything. I lost that 10lb in the first month and have kept it off. It's been great and relatively easy. I still count my calories EVERY day but don't feel guilty if I go over or have a bit of a "naughty" day.
12 Jan 2013, 09:38
Hi Lisa, oddly the study by Dr Krista Varady in which people fasting every other day were allowed to eat a typical American diet on their off days, showed that they lost the same amount of weight and had the same improvements in blood chemistry as those who ate a healthy diet!