The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

18 posts Page 1 of 2
Who else is finding that your calorie awareness and restriction state of mind is carrying over into your "feast days" .. the days you dont calorie restict.

Maybe it's just cause I'm new to this and I get a bit obsessive about things new in my life... but its really making me cut down on days where I probably would normally consume 2,500 calories (10,000KJ) - They say I don't have to and can eat as I normally do but just dont want to anymore.
Yes! I do the very same thing. I try not to get too involved with thinking calories but I do find that I make different choices when I think about the calories in something. Even when I think I'm being 'bad' I have found that I wasn't even close to topping my TDEE. I just can't consume the same amount as I could pre-5:2ing. lol It's really cool and I hope that I just naturally reduce calories as my weight and TDEE drops.
I've noticed this, too. For me, I think there are three reasons: (1) fast days have formed a habit of thinking more about what I'm eating, (2) fast days mean there are alot more veggies and healthy things in my fridge (I live alone, so they would go off if I didn't eat them on feast days, too), and (3) fast days are actually changing my appetite. There are definitely times when I get peckish on feast days, and now I am more likely to think "it won't kill you to wait until the next meal" rather than snacking.
Definitely. Partly because I don't want to waste all that 'hard work' on the fast days by gorging something on a feed day, but it is as much what I read here that is changing my overall diet as the 5:2 process itself.

I am eating more fish (especially salmon), more veg, less potatoes, less high-sugar chocolate, probably less bread too. And some weirder things such as linseed (flax), and I have started taking Eskimo fish oil too. Canny or faddy?