The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

15 posts Page 1 of 1
Fast 2 days in a row?
02 Jul 2013, 00:21
I live in the States and between my work schedule and July 4th festivities, the only way for me to get the 2 days of fasting would be to do them consecutively. Is this ok to do? I am a newbie and this is my third week on this WOE. I am nervous to do two days in a row but I have feel I have figured out how to eat satisfactorily with lots of vegetables and low cal protein.

What is your experience with consecutive day fasting?
Thanks for your input and advice :)
Re: Fast 2 days in a row?
02 Jul 2013, 06:07
Hi Oregongirl and welcome to the forum!

I presume you are thinking of doing our 500-calorie type of fasting on consecutive days? I did this once and found it quite hard (on the 2nd day, obviously), so I haven't repeated the experience. Keeping up the protein intake (and keeping down the carbs) would probably help as you have evidently realised.
02 Jul 2013, 06:19
Hi and welcome.

Two in a row is hard for most people - you just get very hungry.

This will sound strange, perhaps, but you are not on a diet, you are adopting a new way of eating. This WOE is very flexible and can conform to your schedule. If your schedule does not easily accommodate two nonconsecutive fasts this week, just do one! You can do two next week. :clover:
02 Jul 2013, 06:31
Hi and welcome to the board.
I am also doing two days in a row this week due to commitments. I have done this once before and found it ok but wouldn't choose to do it on a weekly basis. If you can't manage 2nd day then don't beat yourself up, you have not failed and just stick to one day this week. This is a WOL not a diet. I am on 2nd day today, probably won't be too strict with tea, I will just have one meal but won't measure like I normally do on a fast day. Good luck and enjoy your 4th July celebrations.
02 Jul 2013, 07:47