The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

33 posts Page 1 of 3
Hi everyone,

I started 5:2 about 3 weeks ago having seen Mimis article in The Mail. I'd never heard of it before :roll: Since then I've been a major convert, reading up about it, buying the book and generally boring the pants off anyone who will listen!

I'm lucky that I've never been particularly overweight but I has a hysterectomy 6 years ago when I was 42 due to ovarian cancer so was dropped unceremoniously into surgical menopause :shock: What an eye opener that was! That aside I have steadily put on weight (almost a stone) in 6 years and finally want to do something about it. 5:2 seems ideal for me as I'm new to dieting and can't be bothered with anything complicated and fussy.

So, what's the problem?

I've done 7 fasts now and am surprised at how easy they have been but I've only lost 1.5lbs :| Is this normal? I've been reading some wonderful and inspirational stories on this forum so am feeling a bit disappointed. I was wondering if there were other people on here who only need to lose a few pounds and what their weight loss was like.

Obviously with my medical history I hope to keep this up for the long haul for all the health benefits so maybe I just need to keep off those scales :lol:

Thanks for reading, and thanks for a great forum
Daisy
Hi Daisy,

I have just under a stone to lose. On the first of Feb. I switched from ADF to 5:2, because after 6 wks. I was only averaging .5 lbs. loss a week. I'm still peri-menopausal, but convinced that the closer we are to a healthy weight and BMI, the more resistant our body is willing to release those last few vanity pounds for the sake of survival. It may be best for us both to just keep off those scales, while keeping on keeping on with this WOE or WONE. I'm with you on hoping to also reap all the other long term, positive health benefits in the process.

Best wishes on your continued progress!