The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

28 posts Page 1 of 2
Sorry if this has been asked before but after reading another article that says this is not a sustainable diet it made me wonder.
How long does someone have to do this for it to been seen as a sustainable way of life.
I've been fasting for 7 months now, no problems so far. Will be tested soon when I go on holidays for 2 weeks. I'm not fasting on holidays and I wonder if I will find it hard to start again.
So is 7 months long enough, 1 year, 2? What do you all think?
I don't know, I think it has to do with keeping the weight off. That's where most diets fail.

I recently came back from holiday, and I also didn't fast while I was away. It was very easy to get back on the 5:2 plan. My body looked forward to it!
Ncync I hope my body looks forward to fasting but I doubt it :grin:
Wineoclock wrote: Sorry if this has been asked before but after reading another article that says this is not a sustainable diet it made me wonder.
How long does someone have to do this for it to been seen as a sustainable way of life.
I've been fasting for 7 months now, no problems so far.... What do you all think?

I think that a far better question might be to ask who's opinion of success is more important? Theirs or yours?

The very fact that you're 5.4kg down, and "7 months now, no problems so far.." seems an undeniable clue of sustainability.

HTH
Haven't several big losers switched to maintenance recently? I reckon if they keep it off 6-12 months we have some evidence for the naysayers.
If people who lost weight using 5:2 have kept it off for 5 years, I'd say it's sustainable.
The scientific evidence is that if you can keep the weight off for 5 years, it's likely to stay off. On the other hand, people who have had weightloss surgery are considered for skin reduction surgery after 2 years of maintaining. So, probably we have to wait at least 2 years after reaching target to decide if it is sustainable!