The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

16 posts Page 1 of 2
When to weigh?
15 Aug 2013, 14:33
Hi,
Sorry if this has already been discussed here, I couldn't find anything on it.
I'm new to the 5:2 diet, on my second week, and I was just curious when eveeryone weighs to track their progress? On fast days or feast days?
Fast days say that I've lost 3 lbs, but I know a lot of that is just from my stomach being empty. Feast days vary from 0-1 lb lost, but I eat really filling meals on my feast days, so I feel like a lot of that has to be from my stomach being full!
Which days are you guys using to track progress?
Re: When to weigh?
15 Aug 2013, 14:39
We weigh the day after our second fast of the week. We fast mostly Mon-Thurs so we weigh on Friday morning. This has worked well for us :grin:
15 Aug 2013, 15:12
Agree weigh in on Friday morning as soon as I get out of bed.
15 Aug 2013, 15:17
Thanks!
I'm actually a weigh every day kind of girl, always have been, even though no one recommends it.
I'm actually fasting three days a week, Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.
It's just crazy how much my weight fluctuates from fast to non fast days.
I feel like weighing less after a fast isn't fair, because it's not really fat loss, just less weight from my stomach having contents, but weighing after eating isn't really fair either!
I guess as long as both numbers are going down that's all that matters!
15 Aug 2013, 15:28
I tend to fast on Mondays and Wednesday/Thursday, and weigh myself on Wednesday morning.
If I've had to move a fast to Tuesday, I've also moved my weigh-in day to Thursday, so it is comparable.

But it's not cheating or anything to weigh after a fast day, after all most of us take our clothes, watches, earrings etc off before we weigh, and maybe even shave our legs!!

I could just have easily chosen to weigh after a fast day, it was just Wednesday was my usual weigh-in day before I started 5:2.
15 Aug 2013, 15:49
I see now you're an everyday girl!