The FastDay Forum

5:2 Diet 'Rules' & Variations

20 posts Page 1 of 2
Feast Day - Calorie Count ?
16 Feb 2013, 01:36
So on feast days do I stick to my local calorie intake or does it not matter? Just making sure so I don't mess up. Thanks!
Re: Feast Day - Calorie Count ?
16 Feb 2013, 06:56
Hi there,
I am new to this (both the forum and the 'diet').It is suggested that we return to our recommended daily calorific intake, which is 2500 calories for men. What I did, however, was to calculate my Basal Metabolic Rate (BMR), which tells me how many calories my body is burning at rest, I then add my exercise and activity and end up with how many calories I should be eating on a feast day. A useful website I found in the UK is http://www.diabetes.co.uk/bmr-calculator.html
Simply put in your stats and it calculates it for you! Hope this helps :)
Take care,
Claire
16 Feb 2013, 08:43
normal calories on non-fast days, whatever "normal" is !
16 Feb 2013, 08:46
I count mine because I easily go over my daily calorie intake.
16 Feb 2013, 11:16
I haven't been counting on non fast days, but am going to start this week as a trial.
My weight has stayed the same for the past two weeks, but I have lost 4 kg and 2 inches from my waist, so I'm trying not to get too hung up on the numbers.
I need to readjust my intake and number of calories now I have lost the 4 kgs. That means fewer calories, but I have found 500 on fast days more than adequate.
If the reduced numbers affect my sleep then I will increase them again.
16 Feb 2013, 11:27
I am finding that I can't get near my maintenance calories which according to the calculation is 2025 cals. I managed 1750 today even with 4 Jaffa cakes and a small piece of cake. I was on a calorie restricted diet of approx. 1200 cals per day and this is very liberating!
16 Feb 2013, 11:45
So Debs are you finding that you are less hungry on feed days now that you are doing 5:2? That's very helpful!
16 Feb 2013, 12:06