The FastDay Forum

5:2 Diet 'Rules' & Variations

7 posts Page 1 of 1
Dinner to dinner
25 Jan 2013, 13:53
Hi everyone,

Another newbie here! Apologies if this question has been discussed in detail elsewhere on this site but... does anyone fast from dinner til dinner? ie. normal dinner, then fast until the next day's normal dinner?

I am keen to try 5:2 but my husband won't be doing it, so it would be useful for us to cook normal meals in the evenings.
Re: Dinner to dinner
25 Jan 2013, 14:38
Hi Ripley and welcome!

My husband does dinner to dinner (complete fast) because he doesn't need to lose weight. I don't know if he will end up losing weight or not. I join him in dinner but have a much reduced dinner of 500 cals and then don't eat again until the next breakfast. I don't think I would lose much weight if I only did the 24 hours.

Some people have tried having 500 cals within the time from dinner to dinner (so, I presume, 500 cals for breakfast and lunch) but if you do that your overall calorie intake will be hardly reduced at all and I can't see how you would lose weight.

So, it depends on your circumstances. If you fast completely and then have a 500 cal dinner you do get quite a lot of food for dinner so it fits in with family life quite well.
25 Jan 2013, 14:45
I fast from dinner the night before my fast until my 400-500cal dinner on my fast day as it means I get a more normal sized meal and I don't tend to feel hungry in the day (unless I have something to eat!).
25 Jan 2013, 15:26
Ok thanks Moogie and Caroline. I have been doing the 6:1 program for a few months, fasting for the entire day between dinner on one day til the next (zero calories during that time). I haven't found this to be difficult.

I've lost a bit of weight but want to step it up a little. I assume that doing this for 2 (non-consecutive) days would be harder but haven't given it a try yet!
25 Jan 2013, 15:56