The FastDay Forum

Getting Sweaty! Exercise & Fitness

12 posts Page 1 of 1
I've been doing the 5:2 routine for the past 3 months and the results have been good(1lb-3lb/week). I will be wrapping up the Insanity workout this Wednesday(9 week routine) and starting this workout regimen called All Pro which is for beginners. It's essentially a 3 day split of compound exercises targeting different muscle groups.
My question is whether I could continue the 5:2 diet with this weight lifting routine? Has anyone tried this diet while lifting heavy? I fast on wed and sun so I could fit non-consecutive workouts on mon, thur and sat.

Currently at 5'9, 177lbs.
Hi Mike. Welcome. If you have done Insanity whilst fasting I would have thought you would be able to do this too. I don't think its possible to train on a perma low calorie diet but this is somehow more doable. (For me at least). Kudos to you that you have done Insantity. I was thinking of starting P90x this week and wondering the same thing about 5:2. Good luck :clover: :clover:
Hi AlphaMikeFoxtrot, and welcome to the forum!

First of all, I've never done any real weight lifting routines, I'm just a girl who uses dumbbells a bit :D. However, I've seen the Insanity programme and from what I gather, it's a pretty tough workout programme. So if you can survive Insanity while doing 5:2, I'm sure you can do weight lifting while doing 5:2 as well.

If you look up for Brad Pillon, author of Eat Stop Eat (which is pretty similar fasting method to 5:2), he also does body building, so lots of weigh lifting I guess, while fasting.

So I'd say go for it. Good luck!
I don't know your program.

All I can say is I did my first Crossfit comp at the weekend, cleaned 40kg for a PB, snatched 25kg x 25 (was in a wod so lost count) and possibly more informative for you deadlifted 80kg x 14 which is BW. I've done 4:3 since January & now do 16:8. I'm 42, a woman & completely unfit before starting CF.