The FastDay Forum

Introduce Yourself!

Our Frequently Asked Questions topic will answer many of your fasting & weight loss questions!

If you're new and have a question or need some advice, please give us as much information as you can about your situation in order for us to be able to help you as best we can. For example, it's helpful to know your BMI/weight, how much you want to lose, any medical conditions which might affect your weight and (if you've started fasting already) how you do your fasts in terms of splitting up your calories, what you eat etc. Thanks!

5 posts Page 1 of 1
Another Hypothyroid-er
20 Apr 2016, 14:15
Hello!

Newbie here. I am on week 3 of my 5:2 (2lb down but I think it will be more once my body gets used to all the water I'm drinking).

I was hyperthyroid but had my thyroid removed 12 years ago so have been on thyroxine ever since. I was always a happy weight but in the last 4 years I've put on 3 stone :( I've tried all the diets you can (including the horrendous shake ones) and nothing has worked. After reading everyone's posts and the website info I'm confident the 5:2 is for me!

I see there are other posts on Hypothyroidism but I didn't see anyone mention tiredness. I've found myself this last week being extremely tired. I have read the info page on side effects and it mentions feeling tired mid afternoon so I don't know if I'm just experiencing an extreme case of this. But on Monday night at 7 o'clock, I couldn't keep my eyes open and passed out on the sofa. Same yesterday and today I'm unable to do any work as I can't read a sentence coherently.

Has anyone else suffered this and if so, how long does it last? Is it weird it's happening on week 3 rather than week 1?

Sorry if I'm being a dramatic newbie. I'd rather not google it though as I'll have diagnosed myself with a dozen different exotic diseases by the time I've posted this thread.

Thank you :)
Re: Another Hypothyroid-er
21 Apr 2016, 09:19