The FastDay Forum

Not losing weight?

Help us to help you! Please give us as much information as you can about your situation in order for us to be able to help you as best we can. For example, it's helpful to know your BMI/weight, how much you want to lose, any medical conditions which might affect your weight and (if you've started fasting already) how you do your fasts in terms of splitting up your calories, what you eat etc. Thanks!
Remember, we're not here to judge, we're here to help.

8 posts Page 1 of 1
Ok. I've been doing 5:2 religiously since Jan 1st 2013. The 1st month I lost 7lbs. Since then (we're talking 14 weeks ish) ..... nada. Zero. Absolutely zilch. I have tried experimenting with eating more on feast days and very little on feast days, but it makes no difference - I stay the same weight. I've lost no inches either.

My partner has been doing it too and he's had a steady weight loss and is now down a stone.

Does it just not work for some people? I am heading towards menopause and have read that "women of my age" (eurgh!!!) can find it INCREDIBLY difficult to lose weight, whatever diet/WOE they try. Does anyone else "of a similar age" (eurgh again!!) find themselves in a similar position?

I try to console myself with the fact that without 5:2 I might well be even bigger than I am, but tbqh, it's small consolation. I've never managed to stick to a woe for so long before - it's great that I'm managing to (relatively easily in fact), but just so disappointing that the lbs aren't shifting and really quite annoying that I'm watching them fall off my OH!

I'm not giving up - I keep telling myself there's health benefits too.
I know it can be a bit tedious but log everything you eat in a calorie counter like My Fitness Pal or similar for 1 or 2 weeks. Include every nibble or sip of something. Compare the calories for those weeks with what your TDEE is at sedentry (see your progress chart for Moogie's TDEE calculator). The solution is in there somewhere.