The FastDay Forum

Weight Maintenance

67 posts Page 2 of 5
Re: Maintaining January 2015
06 Jan 2015, 22:44
Hi everyone!

I have declared myself officially in maintenance, which in practical terms means that I will keep eating 5:2 until my Fastiversary on Feb 23, 2015, but I don't expect to lose any more weight since I have been oscillating around 140 lbs for the past two months and won't cut any more calories.

I'm really loving NOT having to do a diet this January. It's been a very long time since I could do that. I have decided to cut way down on candy and cookies for this next month, to break the bad habits that came on during the Holiday Season--the Festive Season for you Brits--but I can otherwise eat what I want and just do my two fasts a week.

I'm thinking that after the Fastiversary I will either raise my fast day intake to 800 calories (from 435) or cut out one fast day every two weeks. I may try one and then switch to the other. If I start gaining, which is possible since I have basically just been maintaining eating 5:2, I will go back to 5:2.

I have stopped logging weight in Libra, as it made me too obsessive, but I do step on the scale every few days to keep on track. I have always found weighing helpful, and as long as I can forget the weight as soon as I see it, and not log it, I seem to avoid obsessing.
07 Jan 2015, 03:56
My first official (Tuesday morning) weighing of the new year I was right at target. I can't give you any tips, @Lizbean, as I'm pretty sure the whole maintenance thing is magic. Hopefully white magic, not black magic... :grin:
I fast every Monday, eating only a small dinner, weigh every Tuesday, and after a year, still can't always believe that it isn't "bad" to have a slice of cake (no cake on Monday, of course)....
07 Jan 2015, 04:50