The FastDay Forum

Resources & Links

11 posts Page 1 of 1
Coming up in a new episode of Trust Me, I'm a Doctor, Dr. MM seeks to find out if you can lower your cholesterol simply by changing your diet.

http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-33601171
Such a shame that the article doesn't mention that cholesterol as a total is meaningless and so is LDL cholesterol unless you measure the particle numbers and density. The fact that some people had a reduction and others didn't does not tell you if they improved their health as we don't know what the distribution of LDL particles was. Reducing cholesterol in the diet is pointless as the cholesterol in the body is derived from excess blood glucose after eating carbohydrates. Glucose is turned into fat in the liver and transported as cholesterol around the body.

This article explains the biology of how cholesterol is made rather nicely: http://dietheartpublishing.com/node/282
So what's all the current hoo-ha about fibre I keep coming across? "It's good!", "it's bad!" "You need lots!"
Just the carb lobby fussing or something actually important?
Confused :0.
Anyone who gets to see the programme (unfortunately, it won't be me in the U.S.) - let me know what you think - thanks !!!!!
I love all this shared information, thanks!

I've read the article and have set my TV to record the series. I am on statins, my sister who is a nurse and my doctor however have both advised me that even if I lose another 50lbs that I should stay on statins and blood pressure medication as these are drugs that will help to stave off disease and illnesses in later life. We have a history of high cholesterol, diabetes and heart disease in our family.