The FastDay Forum

The 5:2 Lab

8 posts Page 1 of 1
Asking for cholesterol advice
04 Jul 2014, 11:23
Is this where I can ask about cholesterol in relation to 5:2?

I've been fasting since April 25 , 2013. Had a 2 and 1/2 month break.

I've just had my cholesterol checked. For all the money I pay to see a doctor, he says if I dont ring it means no action needed.

He is gone for a week, but I have the right to know my numbers and if I want to understand them.

I have to pay for another visit. There is a question mark next to my cholesterol numbers, but no one will discuss them with me, seeing as he is gone for a week.

Is this a way of holding my results randsome, so I ramp up gp business?

Sorry I am ranting with increased frustration as I type.

I have suspicion my numbers are not changed. Last May of '13 I was the last number in the safe bracket.

I have been curious about fasting having any benefits on cholesterol, seeing as if you eat that butter or biscuit on a feeding day, how is this of benefit to the fasting in relation to cholesterol lowering.

Sorry I have this way of going around and beating about the bush. Not really good at being to the point.

I will demand a print out of my results. In the past their explanations of results are rather poorly anyway.(too brief and basic)
If I bring my results to this sub forum (the lab) I a sure some helpful lab person can help me decipher what no gp has done for me yet.

Sorry for my rambling, I hope someone can decipher this and help :bugeyes:
Hi @Zamale

Not exactly sure what you're asking but if you are wanting to know what numbers to get from your doc, try to get LDL-P, triglycerides and HDL-C (C for cholesterol), they will probably give you total cholesterol as well and maybe LDL-C.

You are looking to have a ratio of triglycerides to HDL-C of under 4 (i.e. divide the triglycerides value by the HDL-C value)
A ratio of total cholesterol to HDL-C of under 3.5 (total cholesterol divided by HDL-C)