The FastDay Forum

The 5:2 Lab

16 posts Page 1 of 2
Loss of REM sleep
28 Aug 2013, 06:49
*cross-posted from Benefits and Side Effects in the hope of a more scientific answer*

I've noticed a real deterioration in my sleep quality on fast days since I started 5:2 at the beginning of the month.

I've been tracking my sleep for about 4 years on my iPhone, using an app called Sleep Cycle, as I've suffered from intermittent insomnia for more than 30 years. On a good night I'll get 6-6.5 hours and average somewhere between 70% and 85% sleep quality. This includes a reasonable amount of REM sleep.

On the days when I've fasted my sleep quality has plummeted to 50-60% (averaging 54%) and I'm averaging only 4.5-5 hours. Significantly, my sleep on these nights consists of long periods of sleep so deep I'm almost comatose, interspersed with periods of total wakefulness. I'm not getting that vital REM sleep so I'm waking exhausted and headachey.

Ironically, on normal days I'm still getting my REM sleep even when I've had several large glasses of wine in the evening.

Any answers?
Re: Loss of REM sleep
28 Aug 2013, 07:34
Hi Vildekhaya. What worked for me is drinking Ho Shou Wu (powder format) as a 'tea' before bedtime. It tastes surprisingly nice. I drink it in an expresso cup size. There is lots of information about the herb on the internet and whilst it is an energy giving/tonic herb, somehow at night it seems to help with sleep. If you decide to try it, make sure you get it from a reputable supplier eg Lionheart.
28 Aug 2013, 08:38
That's odd, alcohol should from what I know reduce the amount of REM sleep. I find it surprising an app can accurately identify sleep cycles though, can it be trusted?

Habitual drinkers can from what I've read experience long term withdrawal symptoms affecting their sleep patterns, reducing REM sleep. I have no idea if this might be the case.