The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

30 posts Page 1 of 2
I watched the Horizon programme last year and found it fascinating and spotted the book at WH Smith at Manchester Airport just over a week ago and so bought it !

I'm hoping this way of eating will work for me. I have been dieting pretty much constantly for about 8 years and nothing works anymore. It's probably an age thing.

There is a pattern to my dieting failures. I count calories and do weigh everything but lose weight very slowly indeed- about half a pound a week or less. I usually lose about 4 pounds over a period of about 9-10 weeks, then it's usually a holiday..Easter, Christmas, a trip away...I eat like a normal person during that time (ie; I don't go mental, I just don't diet) and then all the weight I took months to lose piles pack on plus a pound. I'm slowly getting fatter.

I use myfitnesspal and on a daily basis the data base tells me at the end of the day that 4 weeks down the line I will weigh 8 pounds less..but I never do.

I'm trying this 'cause nothing else has worked and I'm fed up. I did 2 fast days last week and am on fast day number 3.
Welcome to the forums!

Wow, that's an incredibly frustrating story. I hope this is the solution you're looking for.
That is very annoying for you but hopefully this way of eating will work for you. I am 47 and have been following the approach since October last year. Its worked well so far although the weight loss did slow down after the first few weeks.

This forum is a great place to get some tips - I found out some new approaches to try when the weight loss seemed to stop completely and some ideas for where I might be going wrong :).

Also you get a bit of support if you want it which I like :D.

Good luck.