The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

17 posts Page 1 of 2
Significant weight gain
17 Apr 2013, 00:45
I've been doing 5:2 for almost two months now (started on 22 Feb). In that time I've managed to put on 8 pounds! My problem is that I;ve been overcompensating on feed days (more like feast days to me lol). I'd hoped the desire to do this would have wained but it hasn't. So. For the past week I've been caloreie counting using My Fitness Pal online. And a week later I've lost a pound! Not a lot but any loss is motivating after such a shambolic 2 months.

I just wanted to flag this up in case there's anyone in the same boat. I'd hoped that I would not have to calorie count on feed days. However on the good side I don't have to go rock bottom on the calories every day. I've been experimenting on wildly varying my intake. For example in the past week I've had two days fasting,three days at approx 1650 cals and two days at approx 1000 cals. This brings me in at almost 1200 cals a day averaged over the week.

This is working for me and although it's a faff counting cals I don't feel deprived as there are a number of days a week that my caloric intake is high enough to allow for some treats. I guess as we're all pioneers for this woe then it's a case of trial and error in deciding what suits.
Re: Significant weight gain
17 Apr 2013, 00:55
I haven't lost any weight in over a month. Just remember the other five days are "feed" days, not "feast" days. You can't go crazy and eat everything you want. The fast days give you a boost but in order for the diet to work, you have to eat responsibly and in moderation. You know how to do it... keep trying.
17 Apr 2013, 20:54
Thanks Rufus - yes you're right for the diet to work you simply cannot afford to overeat on feed days. I have difficulty eating in moderation which is what made me fat in the first place lol! So it's calore counting for now me so I eat around my TDEE averaged over the week.
17 Apr 2013, 21:06