The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

28 posts Page 1 of 2
I know this is all quite new, but if you started straight after the original Horizon documentary then some of you have been going a few months now and it would be interesting to know if you are still losing weight?
I've certainly not been doing it the longest, but I have been doing it for around 6 months and I am indeed still losing weight - albeit at a slower rate than initially. On average it's about 1lb a week but some weeks I stay the same and some weeks I might lose 1.5-2lbs. Can't complain, I eat what I like - treats and all :) Great to see the scales going downwards rather than upwards, despite not cutting anything out of my life! (well, except some calories 2 days a week ;))
I started on 3 August, and I am still losing weight - it slowed down after the first two stone and I am now doing 4:3 most of the time, but I anticipate doing this for the foreseeable future. I have lost 30% of the weight I want to lose, but still have a long way to go.
Fantastic, Liz, you are an inspiration to us all!
Hi ginger

Erm...I could possibly have been going the longest on these forums, since I started this WOL on 27th Feb last year. But people like Brad Pilon (author of Eat, Stop, Eat) has been practicing IF for about six years (google him, he's an interesting guy. His website is referenced in The Fast Diet).

I didn't start IFing because I wanted to lose weight, although I suspected I'd lose the kilo or so I added over the previous Christmas, but I wanted the health benefits.

The kilo very quickly went and I just kept losing weight - I ended up losing about 10kg, destroying the myth about middle-aged spread in the process.

So I've been maintaining my weight at around 9st 2-4 since November. I find I have to consciously eat more on my feeding days - otherwise, I would indeed, carry on losing weight!