The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

141 posts Page 1 of 10
Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10 Next
I've been a student of the dieting process for quite a while now, and one thing that has become crystal clear to me is that most diets, no matter how well they work to cause weight loss, are extremely tough to maintain. I haven't been fasting long enough to understand what makes fasting hard to sustain for more than a year or two, so I am posing this question to those of you who have been at it longer than I have.

I see people coming back to the forum and mentioning regain. I am certain there are many more lurkers who have gone through the same thing--gratifying weight loss followed by regains that they blame on personality flaws like weak will or gluttony.

My take on regain is what the science shows--that significant weight gain via any method changes our food-related hormones in a way that impel us to make up for the lost fat and put on some extra to prepare for the next famine--since the body, trained by millions of years of evolution--interprets the diet period as a famine and is not tricked by alternate day fasting or any of the other hacks we try.

So if you have regained, could you explore here what changed that made it so much harder not to eat.

Were you thinking about food more? (a brain chemistry thing linked to leptin levels, among other factors.)

Were you more physiologically hungry? (Also hormonal)

Did you think "I lost weight so easily that it will be easy to get rid of any that I put back on?" while forgetting that the last few pounds you lost were far harder to lose than the first ten or fifty?

Did your energy level drop after a long period of weight loss? This happened to me and it seems to be due to a little known change in thyroid hormone that doesn't show up in tests but really can make you feel half dead all the time.