The FastDay Forum

5:2 Diet 'Rules' & Variations

23 posts Page 1 of 2
Hi -- I am new to the 5:2, but not new to intermittent fasting. I have been following the principle of 'feast / fast' off and on for almost a year now. My fasts are completely food-free, consisting of nothing but lemon water and lemon green tea. I have to say I really enjoy the fast day and feel great for doing so. I would also like to add that I also follow the 16/8 feeding window, with 16 hours of not eating and then 8 hours to consume my three daily meals. I typically eat at 11am, 3pm and 7pm. I have come across the 5:2 Fast Diet and have decided to up my fasting to 2 days a week, however I am also an extremist and would love to have the weight loss benefit of an added 3rd day of fasting if it is not unhealthy or harmful to my health. I have been reading what I can on this site and see that others are following the 4:3 concept, and yet others are following the 'no food fast' days. Is there anyone out there doing both? I would love to hear from you! How long have you been doing this? What is your practice / routine? What have your results been like? And anything else that you would like to share or believe to be helpful! :) I have ordered the book and it is shipped and en route -- just waiting to receive it! I have everything on the official website as well as watched the Horizon documentary. Please share!!! :) Thank you!
Hi MGM and welcome! :)

I can't add any experience as I'm not doing 4:3 and I cant get by without eating on fast days either, but just wanted to welcome you to the forums. :)
I think if you look at the stats from here that there is very little difference between 4:3 and 5:2. Average weightloss is about 1lb a week. It's been said that this may be because those doing 4:3 reward themselves a little more freely on feed days and so cancel out the benefit from the calorie deficit from an extra fast day.