The FastDay Forum

Getting Sweaty! Exercise & Fitness

27 posts Page 1 of 2
Fasting and weightlifting
10 Jun 2013, 20:33
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to this blog, and only started doing the fast diet last Monday. Today marks my 3rd fast day, and so far I've found it easier than I anticipated.

I'm a massive exercise lover, and I was concerned about exercising on my fast days in case I didn't have enough energy, or incase it made me really hungry that I'd ruin my fast post workout. But today I just bit the bullet and went for my workout anyway. Turns out that my energy didn't waver at all, and the exercise actually suppressed my appetite! And that's with consuming no calories beforehand - I wanted to save all my cals for a meal this evening.

Very happy with that!

My workout consisted of 40 mins HIIT on the stairmaster.

I've recently (in the past few months) got into lifting weights and have built muscle. I really love how its shaping my body and really don't want that to change on this eating plan. If there are any weight lifters out there that can share their experiences whilst fasting I'd be very grateful. I know that I am not going to build muscle whilst on the plan as I will have a calorie deficit, but I just don't want to loose the muscle I do have!

Re: Fasting and weightlifting
10 Jun 2013, 21:46
I do aerobics and participate in a weight training class on fast days and find it no trouble at all and my muscle seems good--very good for my age, actually. Of course, I'm not in your muscle-building category being in my early 70's and lifting weights in a class at a senior citizens center! The class ranges in age from 50's through the 80's. I use weights heavier than most of the other women but my husband, at age 80, often attends the class and has fantastic muscle tone for his age.

We get a lot of comments on how good (and young) we look. I attribute it to good luck first, and exercise second.