The FastDay Forum

Not losing weight?

Help us to help you! Please give us as much information as you can about your situation in order for us to be able to help you as best we can. For example, it's helpful to know your BMI/weight, how much you want to lose, any medical conditions which might affect your weight and (if you've started fasting already) how you do your fasts in terms of splitting up your calories, what you eat etc. Thanks!
Remember, we're not here to judge, we're here to help.

26 posts Page 1 of 2
I'm Gaining and not losing!!!
05 Apr 2013, 21:49
I am a newbie and started the 5:2 diet 3 weeks ago and here are my stats. I am 50yr old female, 5'6" and I exercise 3 days a week with 2 days a week of stretching exercises. I love the diet so far because my carb/sugar cravings have gone away and on my normal eating days, I am not very hungry which is awesome except my scale is showing that I am gaining.
My 1st week I lost only -.04lbs.
my 2nd week I GAINED 1 pound
my 3rd week I GAINED 1 pound

Can anyone one tell me what I am doing wrong. I usually eat 1200 calories a day along with my exercise calories of 300-400 calories so a total of 1600-1700 calories on the non fast days. I fast on Tuesdays and Saturdays with my weigh in on Friday. Any help from the successful veterans would be very helpful to me. Thank you for the help as I will keep at it and pray for a loss next week. :frown:
Hi Youda and welcome! :)

I can't offer you much advice on your problem, but just wanted to say hello.
Um, have you worked out your TDEE (total daily energy requirement)? If it comes out at around 1800, I expect it is just too soon to be sure what is happening as there is a lot of water retention going on at first. If you are eating well under TDEE on feed days it's possible you have slowed your metabolism and you should try to roughly eat around TDEE on your feed days. What works best for me is to eat rather over TDEE at weekends and be careful during the week.