The FastDay Forum

5:2 Diet 'Rules' & Variations

32 posts Page 1 of 3
Hi there, I'm a newbie looking for advice and maybe some reassurance. Am sure I'm not the only one to have asked this but can't find the answers on the forum so my apologies if this is a constant question!

I started on 5:2 last week and am just finishing my 4th fast day and am pleased how it's going so far. My goal is weight loss first and followed by the health benefits that come with it and am hoping that 5:2 as a way of life will help me maintain a healthy weight after years of yo-yo dieting. But I have a couple of problems!

My BMR is 1364 and my TDEE is either 2115 or 1876 depending on how many runs I get in, I've plumped for 1876. At 25% less calories (469 calories) I'm not sure if this means over the remaining feed days I should eat 1876 calories or 1364.

Now I know the whole idea with 5:2 is NOT to count calories on feed days - but the thought of not counting terrifies me as historically every time I don't 'watch' what I eat I gain weight. I think the best way for me to get my confidence with this method is by initially counting calories but am not sure how many this should be - the more I calculate the more confused I get!

Then comes the exercise calories, I understand that we don't 'eat them back'?

Incidentally I eat healthily - lots of fresh veggies and fruit, mostly fish or chicken, lentils, pulses, whole grains etc, very little processed food.

Any advice gratefully received!
1876 is the right one. BMR would be far too low. No you can't eat exercise calories back as they have already been included in the TDEE calculation.

Your healthy diet sounds perfect for 5:2ing plus you'll probably have a few cals free for some treats so you won't feel like you're dieting!

Good luck!
WOW! Now that's really scary Carorees - I've been eating 1200 (and not losing weight) so the thought of eating 1876 is a bit mind blowing!