The FastDay Forum

Benefits & Side Effects

18 posts Page 1 of 2
I saw family recently that I havent seen since the start of my journey with this WOE. Several commented negatively on my weight loss saying I look gaunt, tired or pale. Neighbour has been saying this for a while too, but I just put it down to jealousy! I am fairly self critical myself, but I cant agree with these comments and I am still aiming to reach goal with another 5lb to go. Even at my target weight I will be nearly 1 stone heavier than when I was a student or a (muscular-ish) commercial diver. As I am now over 40 (just!) Do I need to carry more weight than I thought? Is it just that my skin has lost some elasticity, so my face is baggy and saggy? Do people just need time to adjust to my new look? At what point do I maintain?
Interesting question, @scubachick. I have had similar comments, balanced, it must be said, with those who've said how well I look.
I do not want to lose weight, per se, but still need to trim a few inches off my waist.
Although I'm a lot older than you, I am a quite a bit heavier now than as a student, when I think I was probably too thin (photos bear this out) and I think I would not suit such a look again at my age.

Question is, are you happy to maintain at 5lbs over goal? How much of a struggle will it be to lose those excess pounds, both mentally and physically? I'm sure others wiser than me may come up with your answer, but, at the end of the day, it's your decision. Let us know x
This is a great question @scubachick. We have debated this in the past but not been able to come up with any firm conclusions!!

Pennyforthem is absolutely right...if it is going to be hard work to maintain, don't bother trying...life is for enjoying after all.