The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

18 posts Page 1 of 2
Back to back fasts advice
07 Nov 2014, 22:30
Hi everyone.
I've got a massively busy two weeks coming up which is going to include a LOT of eating out so I'm thinking of doing a couple of b2b fasts so I can still do 4/3 and minimise any damage :wink:
Here's my plan. Any advice welcome, I've never done b2b before.

Sat 8th - meal and drinks out with friends
Sun - FAST (or 16/8?)
Mon - FAST
Tues - Daughter's birthday Italian meal out
Weds - FAST
Thurs - OH's 40th birthday - big fat curry out :wink:
Fri - FAST
Sat - normal
Sun - FAST
Mon - FAST
Tues - away in hotel breakfast and dinner included
Weds - same
Thurs - same
Fri - same
Sat - coming home (maybe 16/8 possibly)
Sun - FAST
Mon - FAST
Re: Back to back fasts advice
07 Nov 2014, 23:33
I haven't done many back to back fasts. The first was really hard, the second easier. I've done a few since that just happened as I wasn't particularly hungry the next day. Your schedule looks quite difficult to me, as you have a period of nine days where you would only be eating normally on three.
Personally I wouldn't do your schedule, it would be too tough for me, but I'd maybe do eating windows where possible. If this run of events is exceptional, I'd probably accept it as that, try to eat reasonably, but think of it as a bit like going on holiday!
Whatever you decide to do, it looks like you will have a busy, but fun two weeks! Enjoy it!
08 Nov 2014, 00:17
People do it, but we don't recommend more than 36 hour fasts on this site. Personally I have done it, and it wasn't too bad. Maybe a better idea might be to go to 19:5 or 16:8 as per the eating window threads; you would still be eating something but still less than your TDEE?
08 Nov 2014, 00:56
I'm not a fan of back to back myself, but I think some people here regularly do it.
08 Nov 2014, 02:21