The FastDay Forum

Getting Sweaty! Exercise & Fitness

1467 posts Page 29 of 98
Previous 1 ... 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 ... 98 Next
Re: Are there any runners here?
21 Sep 2013, 16:42
lassemista wrote: Wow - Chickvic, you have lost a massive amount - very well done.
To me treadmills are all very well when there is no alternative, but there is so much more to look at running outside. I was watching a kestrel at one point, and the sunrise in the mornings is magical. OH said there were plenty of people older and fatter than me, but then he knows I am thickskinned.

Thank you :smile: I am determined to get outside but I want to find some decent gear to keep all the wobbles in when jogging :oops: :oops: :oops:
21 Sep 2013, 16:45
I will be in the same category, Sian - I am astonished how fast some are going, I won't worry them! (I doubt if I will see them after the start :smile: )
21 Sep 2013, 16:47
CV - I sooo know what you mean!
21 Sep 2013, 17:08
I'm a newbie runner, can I join in?

There is no park runs close to me, so I do my own one in my local park. Try to go a little bit longer every time and it seems to be working.
I try and do it 2-4 times a week. I started with a little bit less than 5k, and now I'm aiming toward 6k. Slowly getting there.

I have to be really careful and go quite slowly, due to a leg injury. I felt better last week and tried to speed up, with a terrible leg pain the rest of the day as a result. I try and run smoothly with as little inpact on the foot as possible. I probably look funny but I don't care.

For me, running is not supposed to be about times and running fast and achieve things. To me, it's an achievement in itself to actually get out of the house. My aim is to be able to run longer and longer without feeling like I want to die :)
If I sustain this through the winter I might do a 10k in the spring. Slowly... :)