The FastDay Forum

Non-diet Chat

2005 posts Page 27 of 134
Previous 1 ... 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 ... 134 Next
Re: Chatterbox Anwyl
26 Dec 2013, 19:04
I tried German for all of one lesson. I just couldn't 'hear' the words properly. There was just too many consonants piled one on top of the other.
26 Dec 2013, 19:08
I think French is beautiful Mands..i studied it for seven years at school and passed my A level ( Advanced Level)
Really enjoyed the literature we studied..stories by Guy de Maupassant and Francois Mauriac,the plays of Moliere..other stuff that ive forgotten over the years x
26 Dec 2013, 19:09
Like Candice, I did it at A level and can speak enough French to get by in France, but do have some pitfalls.
I wanted to buy a fly swatter in the supermarche and couldn't remember the word for fly... mouche or mouchoir.. (sorry no dictionary to hand) so I asked the assistant and mimed the motion of a fly swatter. She burst out laughing and in French said that it is a 'tapis' (have I got that right Manderley?) which is also a colloquial word for a gay man. You lives and learns, mes amies.
26 Dec 2013, 19:15
I think it's more beautiful when it's not "our" language. I mean, I love reading Jane Austin, Hemingway, even Shakespeare in English. I find them less "rough" but I have some French classics I love, of course. However I wouldn't advise to anyone to read a Stendhal novel ,like "the red and the black" as it is very long and complicated....

German is even worse, Julie, as some things female for us will be male or neutral for them and it's a big mix match not friendly at all to learn

@PennyForthem The right word for it is a "tapette" which is a slang word and even an insult for gay men.

Sorry, I am imagining you miming the fly and I can't help laughing now... which still hurts my foot, by the way :grin:
26 Dec 2013, 19:24
Oh yes, a tapis is a carpet or rug! Doh, I've just had it pulled from under my feet! Merci manderley!
26 Dec 2013, 19:33