The FastDay Forum

Getting Sweaty! Exercise & Fitness

1466 posts Page 9 of 98
Previous 1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 ... 98 Next
Re: Are there any runners here?
19 Apr 2013, 17:13
I've been running on and off for many years. Never in a million years will I ever be good or fast, but i do enjoy both the challenge and the being out in the world. I did half marathons back in the days when I was much younger and fitter (last one was in 2001, best time was 2:16 in 2000) but took a good few years out from healthy living after having twins in 2004.

I started running again a couple of years ago, and found park run. In fact, you can see me on the home page for whitstable park run as I was there at the very first one (in a blue top) :smile: Medical issues and an op stopped me exercising last year but I've literally started back this week with a couch to 5 k app. I'm using 'get running' and its all good so far. My little girls who are now 8.5 have done a run/walk park run with their dad (who used to run and would like to get back into it) and also the race for life (walking) with me. They are signed up to do RFL this year with me again and are eager to run, and we all want to do parkrun regularly again. One of them came out with me last night to do my walk/run... Yes, I am being very careful not to push them! They are fit and active children already.

I'm really keen to get back to parkrun but have sworn I won't until I've done the whole get running thing, as my knee is niggling and I don't want to be laid up because I pushed myself.
19 Apr 2013, 18:08
Good luck all for tomorrow!

I'll be doing a Park Run but at a different venue, at a charity event being organised by my local Chartered Accountants Institute. That'll be a warm-up for the Titanic Quarter 10k I'm doing on Sunday! I did it last year in 1 hour 15, so I know what to beat ;-)