The FastDay Forum

Getting Sweaty! Exercise & Fitness

1467 posts Page 52 of 98
Previous 1 ... 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55 ... 98 Next
Re: Are there any runners here?
07 Apr 2014, 06:42
@Franglaise: for my money you are not being stupid to want to race next week, and I can't believe you will do any extra damage as a result. Go for it!

But of course I am not a doctor, just a runner with dodgy hips who keeps racing regardless (and 3 seconds slower on Saturday despite perfect conditions!)...

@MaryAnn: well done for the PB, sorry you are disappointed but can understand - see above!
07 Apr 2014, 07:55
@MaryAnn
Lack of sleep is one of the worst things when you run, I'm sure you will get below and hour for your 10k soon, but well done on your PB! I'm surprised you managed it at all after your trip to Japan.
I asked the doctor who explained the MRI about running and he said I shouldn't run, I said I'd been running for a while with the pain and he said he didn't want to know and laughed.
@CreakyPete Even if you are not a doctor, I value your opinion very highly! If I hadn't had the MRI I would have still done the half marathon so am still going to do so. Even if I don't do the time expected by my coach (1h41m) which is highly unlikely even without a knee issue, I just want to know I can do the distance :wink:
07 Apr 2014, 08:50
I reckon you are in with a good chance, you have the pace to smash 1:40 but the endurance is unknown. I suspect having to go steady for the first couple of miles while the knee warms up will be to your advantage.

I managed a 1:41 half a month after a 78 min 10 miles back in 2009, much to my surprise during my late-life running renaissance, and improved again on the next couple before succumbing to whatever lies in wait for the old but keen runner who suddenly starts getting slower and slower in training.

Good Luck in the race, make the most of your opportunity while you can!
07 Apr 2014, 13:42